Meet The Staff

Passionate. Dedicated. Nurturing. Genuine. The Leadership Team at the Y works day in and day out to deliver and grow quality programs and services in our community. Spanning all ages, backgrounds and life experiences, the team is devoted to developing the potential of youth, improving the community’s health and well-being, and providing support to our neighbors.

Brent Pentenburg, Interim CEO

Brent Pentenburg

Brent is currently serving as the Interim CEO. He joined the association in 2012 and had served as the COO since December 2015. Brent’s Y career launched more than 10 years ago as a day camp counselor. His Y journey has exposed him to various leadership roles and areas of focus. Prior to coming to Rockford he was the Sports Director at the Georgia Mountains YMCA in North Atlanta, Georgia. For the YMCA of Rock River Valley, he has served in many capacities allowing him to gain a thorough understanding of how the organization operates at all levels. In 2016, Brent was named as a Person to Watch in a Rockford Register Star article. Brent has a passion for helping every individual reach their God-given potential. He spends much of his spare time volunteering. Brent is an advisory member for Youth for Christ, he is a member of the Rotary Club of East Rockford and Cherry Valley, and he volunteers his time at Stateline Church. Additionally, Brent and his wife, Johnnie are foster parents and inspire others to get involved as adoptive or foster parents in our community.

Central Office

Jason BehrendsChief Finance Officer
Michelle GorhamChief Advancement Officer
Tyler AndersonChief of Staff
Michelle PolivkaExecutive Director of Marketing & Communications
Audrey KunertSr. Director of HR & Staff Development
Trisha TousantDistrict Executive of Operations
Emmet DingleAssociate Director of Human Resources
Nick MaierDirector of Corporate Engagement
Bridget LedenBrand Manager
Matt YangGraphic Designer
Julie PhelpsPayroll
Chris CozadAccounts Payable
Tara VeraAccounts Receivable Coordinator
Jan TullockSpecial Projects
Gary SchwerinCoordinator of Spiritual Development
Mona SchupbachVolunteer Coordinator
Kayla SchefferOperations Associate
Laura ZapataAdministrative Assistant
Sharon MattisAdministrative Assistant
Kamrin MuhammadExecutive Assistant
Talli EricksonOperations Assistant

I.D. Pennock Family YMCA

Jaron BertelsenExecutive Director
Kim LapeBranch Administrator
Charles GrayMembership Coordinator
Gina KarvelisHealthy Living Director
Brian WatkinsProperty Director
Mark BegeotProperties Coordinator
Leslee ScurlockYouth and Family Program Director
Carrie ClaassenExploritorium Coordinator
Jenny RogelSenior Program Director of Membership/Aquatics
Jamie LoweryAquatics Director
David RilottHead Swim Coach
Jane JohnsonGroup Exercise Coordinator
Tamica FricksBuilding Relations Manager
Taylor KirkSports Coordinator
Tyrone GarrettProject 505 Coordinator

Northeast Family YMCA

Melissa BurnsExecutive Director
Margie HennigMember Experience Director
Rob GiglioSenior Program Director
Holli TankHealthy Living Director
Nancy BaligaLIVESTRONG Program Coordinator
Melissa RobertsonYouth and Family Coordinator
Bryan VandiverProperties Director
Kathleen HedrickBranch Administrator
Darcy HouserActive Older Adult Coordinator
Ellen MatelingAquatics Director

Puri Family YMCA

Angelyn GrableExecutive Director
Lora NegreteYouth and Family Coordinator
Jessica ForsgrenMembership Coordinator
Mark VicencioProperties Director

Youth Achievement

Penni BostelmanExecutive Director
Lamya CristilloSenior Program Director
Tonya Lewers21st Century Coordinator
Jacquelyn LopezBranch Administrator
Rosie FrascaFinancial Assistant Coordinator
Salina BrownKids’ Place Site Coordinator
Lisa JacksonAchievers Coordinator
Dee EdgertonAmeriCorp Program Director
Katelyn FranzenKids’ Time Regional Director
Jessica JohnsonKids’ Time Regional Director
Becca HombKids’ Time Program Specialist

Camp Winnebago

Bif BuchanDistrict Executive
Audi StroupBranch Administrator
Seth BartosProgram Coordinator

YMCA Children's Learning Center

Sarah RenickerExecutive Director
Ami PenningBranch Administrator
Leslie Hazelbauer-WetterProgram Coordinator